The Speaker is the Riksdag's principal representative, and as such directs and organises the Riksdag's work procedures.

The Speaker's tasks include presiding over the meetings of the Chamber. He is assisted by three Deputy Speakers.

Per Westerberg has been the Speaker of the Riksdag since the parliamentary elections in 2006.

Latest news

The Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt (Moderate Party) and the Speaker Per Westerberg shake hands in connection with the Prime Minister's request for resignation. Photo: Melker Dahlstrand.

The Speaker to confer with Deputy Speakers

On 15 September, the Speaker of the Riksdag Per Westerberg received Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt (Moderate Party), who visited the Riksdag in order to submit a request for resignation from his duties as Prime Minister. The Speaker granted the Prime Minister's request. On 16 September, the Speaker will hold a press briefing at the Riksdag.

The Speaker with the Dutch delegation. Photo: Melker Dahlstrand.

The Speaker received the Presidents of the Dutch Parliament

The President of the Dutch Senate (upper house of the Dutch Parliament) Ankie Broekers-Knol and the President of the House of Representatives (lower house) Anouchka van Miltenburg visited Sweden at the invitation of the Speaker Per Westerberg.

The Speaker participated in Nordic-Baltic Speakers' conference. Photo: Anastasiia Sirotkina

The Speaker participated in Nordic-Baltic Speakers' conference

The Speaker Per Westerberg visited Palanga in Lithuania to participate in this year's Nordic-Baltic Conference of Speakers. Mr Westerberg also met the Ukrainian Speaker Oleksandr Turchynov.

Press officials

Interview with Per Westerberg

If you are a journalist with questions about the Speaker, please contact the Speaker’s Press Secretary.

Press photos

The Speaker and the Deputy Speakers

Press photos of the Speaker and Deputy Speakers will be available together with other photos from the Riksdag.