Skip to content

The Speaker

The Speaker is the Riksdag's principal representative and leads and plans the work of the Riksdag.

Latest news

  • Chairman of the Ukrainian Parliament pays official visit to Sweden

    The Chairman of the Ukrainian Parliament Ruslan Stefanchuk and a delegation visited Sweden on 20–23 May. They were received at the Riksdag by the Speaker Andreas Norlén.

  • Chairman of the Ukrainian Parliament visits Sweden

    The Speaker Andreas Norlén will receive the Chairman of the Ukrainian Parliament Ruslan Stefanchuk at the Riksdag during his official visit to Sweden on 20–23 May. At the Riksdag, Ruslan Stefanchuk will speak in the former Second Chamber. The event in the former Second Chamber is open to invited guests and the media, space permitting.

  • The Speaker leads delegation to Czech Republic

    On 25–26 April, the Speaker led a delegation on an official visit to the Czech Republic. The programme for the visit included meetings with Speaker Markéta Pekarová Adamová and a meeting with President Petr Pavel.

  • The Speaker Andreas Norlén participates in EU Speakers’ Conference in Prague

    On 24–25 April, the Speaker Andreas Norlén participated in the annual Conference of the Speakers of the EU Parliaments (EUSC). The Conference was held in Prague in the Czech Republic.

Show all

The presiding officers

Standing, from the left, Third Deputy Speaker Kerstin Lundgren (Centre Party), the Speaker Andreas Norlén, First Deputy Speaker Kenneth G Forslund (Social Democratic Party), Second Deputy Speaker Julia Kronlid (Sweden Democrats).

CV: The Speaker

The CV contains more detailed information about the Speaker Andreas Norlén.

CV: Deputy Speakers

Deputy Speakers

Map of Europe.

The Riksdag’s part in the Presidency of the EU

Sweden will hold the Presidency of the Council of the EU from January to June 2023. Here you can find further information regarding the Riksdag's part in the Presidency, also known as the parliamentary dimension.

The website for the Rikdag’s part in the Presidency of the EU

About the Speaker

The Speaker is the Riksdag's principal representative, and as such directs and organises the Riksdag's work procedures.

The tasks of the Speaker

Deputy Speakers

Kenneth G Forslund (Social Democratic Party) is First Deputy Speaker, Julia Kronlid (Sweden Democrats) Second Deputy Speaker and Kerstin Lundgren (Centre Party) is Third Deputy Speaker.

The Deputy Speakers

Contact the Speaker